Total Pageviews

Sunday, May 21, 2023

My Thoughts - Counter Attack Author: Patricia Bradley


About the Book

Book: Counter Attack 

Author: Patricia Bradley 

Series: Pearl River 

Release date: May 16, 2023

A brand new heart-stopping series from a USA Today bestselling author

No sooner has Alexis Stone been sworn in as the interim sheriff for Russell County, Tennessee, when a serial killer dubbed the Queen's Gambit Killer strikes again--this time in her hometown. Pearl Springs is just supposed to be a temporary stop along the way to Alex's real dream: becoming the first female police chief of Chattanooga. But the killer's calling card--a white pawn and a note with a chess move printed on it--cannot be ignored.

Pearl Springs chief of police Nathan Landry can't believe that his high school sweetheart Alexis (he refuses to call her Alex) is back in town, and he can't help wanting to protect the woman he never stopped loving. But as the danger mounts and the killer closes in, can Nathan come through on the promises he makes to himself to bring a killer to justice before it's too late.

About the Author

USA Today best-selling author, Patricia Bradley is the recipient numerous awards, including an Inspirational Readers’ Choice Award in suspense, a Selah winner, was a Carol and a Daphne du Maurier finalist. Her romantic suspense novels include the Logan Point series, the Memphis Cold Case Novels, and the Natchez Trace Park Rangers. She is now hard at work on the second book in her new Pearl River series set in the Cumberland Plateau area above Chattanooga. The first book in the series, Counter Attack will release in mid-2023.

She has conducted writing workshops for American Christian Fiction Writers, the Mid-South Christian Writer’s Conference, the KenTen and Scrivener retreats (where she was the keynote), the Memphis American Christian Fiction Writer group, and the Bartlett Christian Writers group.

She and her two cats call Northeast Mississippi home--the South is also where she sets most of her books, and when she has time, she likes to throw mud on a wheel and see what happens.

My Thoughts

Counter Attack is the first book in a brand new series that is written by: Patricia Bradley. I am a huge fan of this author. She always writes such adrenaline pounding books. Alexis Stone is sworn in as interim sheriff for Russell County, Tennessee, She is taking over while her grandfather is recovering. On her first day, a serial killer that they have dubbed Queen's Gambit Killer moves to Pearl Springs. All the victims look similar to Alexis. All of them have a chess piece in their hand. 

Nathan Landry is the police chief of Pearl Springs. Nathan and Alexis have a history. They dated previously and he is happy to help chauffer her around. Both Russell County Sheriffs and Pearl Springs Police Department are trying to solve the case. It then appears that Alexis is in the killer's sites. Can they find the killer before it's too late?

I loved the chemistry between these two characters. They have a history and there are some hurts from the past that they both need to move on from. They work well together. 

This is a great kick off to a new series. The author grabs your attention right away. I cannot wait until the next book in the series. 

Thank you to the author and the Revell Reads Blogging program for allowing me to read a copy of this book - all thoughts are my own. 

No comments:

Post a Comment