Total Pageviews

Sunday, December 3, 2023

My Thoughts - Arsenic at Ascot (A Fiona Figg & Kitty Lane Mystery Book 4) Written by Kelly Oliver

 Arsenic at Ascot (A Fiona Figg & Kitty Lane Mystery Book 4)




Saddle up for this first class historical mystery, perfect for fans of Helena Dixon and Verity Bright.

London, 1918

Fiona Figg finds herself back in Old Blighty saddled with shuffling papers for the war office. Then a mysterious card arrives, inviting her to a fancy house party at Mentmore Castle. This year’s Ascot-themed do will play host to a stable of animal defense advocates, and Fiona is tasked with infiltrating the activists and uncovering possible anti-war activity.

Disguised as the Lady Tabitha Kenworthy, Fiona is more than ready for the “mane” event, but the odds are against her when both her arch nemesis, dark-horse Fredrick Fredricks, and would-be fianc√© Lieutenant Archie Somersby arrive unexpectedly and “stirrup” her plans. And when a horse doctor thuds to the floor in the next guest room, Fiona finds herself investigating a mysterious poisoning with some very hairy clues.

Can Fiona overcome the hurdles and solve both cases, or will she be pipped to the post and put out to pasture by the killer?

Purchase Link - https://mybook.to/arsenicascotsocial

Author Bio – 



Kelly Oliver is the award-winning, bestselling author of three mysteries series: The Jessica James Mysteries, The Pet Detective Mysteries, and the historical cozies The Fiona Figg Mysteries, set in WW1. She is also the Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at Vanderbilt University and lives in Nashville, Tennessee. She is bringing new titles in the Fiona Figg series to Boldwood, the first of which, Chaos in Carnegie Hall, will be published in November 2022.

Social Media Links –  

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kellyoliverauthor  

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kellyoliverbook  

Newsletter Sign Up:https://bit.ly/KellyOlivernews

Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/kelly-oliver 


My Thoughts -


Arsenic at Ascot is written by Kelly Oliver. This is the first book that I have read by this author, and it will not be my last. This book is part of the A Fiona Figg & Kitty Lane Mystery series. I did not have any issues following along. This book is set in 1918. Fiona is back at work at her filing job. She is undercover during WWI - and trying to find the mole.

Fiona is so funny. She loves to wear clever disguises, and infiltrate house parties and military research facilities. She is on the lookout for any potential traitors. I will put in a potential trigger warning - this book does talk about using animals for research purposes - it is not graphic, but want to put that out there for those who may be sensitive to it.

During one of the country house raids - a murder happens. and surprisingly - everyone has alibis. Fiona hilariously gets to pick apart the alibis. I loved the banter and humor in this book.

Thank you to the author, publisher and Rachel's Random Resources for allowing me to read a copy of this book - all thoughts are my own.




No comments:

Post a Comment